PR45 - Serbia obtains second major title in 2010


Serbia confirmed its status of world strongest team by winning the 14th FINA Men’s Water Polo World Cup, just two weeks after conquering the gold medal in the World League. After having lost the first match to Croatia, Serbia defeated their neighbours and traditional rivals in the final game by a concluding 13-7. The competition took place in Oradea (ROU), from July 27 to August 1. Serbia is also the current World champion, after getting the title in 2009 in Rome (ITA).

Spain conquered the bronze medal, defeating the United States by 12-8. In other matches, Romania beat Australia (9-5) and conquered the fifth place and the qualification for the next World Championships; for the 7th place, China beat Iran by 20-5.

Croatia’s Sandro Sukno was the top scorer of this World Cup, with 17 goals.

From this tournament four teams qualified for next year’s FINA World Championships in Shanghai (CHN): Croatia, Spain, USA and Romania. Serbia had already qualified by winning the FINA World League earlier in July. So did Montenegro, the World League silver medallist. With China, automatically qualified as the Championships host, already seven team are now selected. The remaining nine teams will qualify through the continental championships: three from Europe, two from the Americas, two from Asia and one each from Oceania and Africa.


4.United States


1.Sukno Sandro (CRO) 17 goals
2.Udovicic Vanja (SRB) 16
Negrean Tiberiu (ROU) 16
Garcia Javier (ESP) 16
5.McGregor Sam (AUS) 13
Iosep Andrei (ROU) 13
Boskovic Miho (CRO) 13

FINA Newsletter