PR39 - Australians and Cubans shine in last meet in Madrid (ESP)


Australia and Cuba had an excellent performance in the sixth and last meet of the 2010 FINA Diving Grand Prix, held in Madrid (ESP), from July 16-18. Among men, where China didn’t get any title, Ethan Warren (AUS) won the gold in the 3m springboard, while Jose Guerra Oliva (CUB) triumphed in both the individual and synchro (with Jeinkler Aguirre) 10m platform. Ukraine grabbed the fourth gold, thanks to Illya Kvasha and Oleksiy Prygorov in the 3m springboard synchro.

In the women’s field, China’s supremacy was confirmed, with three victories out of the four events contested. The non-Chinese triumph went to Australia’s Anabelle Smith and Briony Cole in the 10m platform synchro.

Other countries with medals in Madrid were Spain, France, Belarus and Canada.

Overall, and after the conclusion of this meet, Chinese divers won seven out of the eight events of the Grand Prix, including all four synchronised events. Individually, Aisen Chen is the 2010 winner in the men’s 10m platform, while Han Wang and Sinou Ma were the best in the women’s 3m springboard and 10m platform respectively. Evgeny Kuznetsov (RUS) was the overall winner in the men’s 3m springboard.


3m springboard: 1. Ethan Warren (AUS) 463.35; 2. Javier Illana (ESP) 460.10; 3. Illya Kvasha (UKR) 455.65
10m platform: 1. Jose Guerra Oliva (CUB) 529.50; 2. Hao Zhang (CHN) 478.65; 3. Kostyantyn Mylyayev (UKR) 473.55
3m springboard synchro: 1. Illya Kvasha/Oleksiy Prygorov (UKR) 430.53; 2. Jingcong Li/Yong Wang (CHN) 408.60; 3. Damien Cely/Matthieu Rosset (FRA) 389.55
10m platform synchro: 1. Jose Guerra Oliva/Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB) 438.12; 2. Hao Zhang/Ziyi Zhang (CHN) 419.34; 3. Kaptur Vadim/Hordeichik Timofei (BLR) 400.38

3m springboard: 1. Quilin Zheng (CHN) 354.80; 2. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 348.80; 3. Yuting Yang (CHN) 344.70
10m platform: 1. Yuhua Xia (CHN) 369.85; 2. Meagan Benfeito (CAN) 367.30; 3. Audrey Labeau (FRA) 322.90
3m springboard synchro: 1. Quilin Zheng/Yuting Yang (CHN) 311.70; 2. Olena Fedorova/Anna Pysmenka (UKR) 300.30; 3. Emilie Heymans/Jennifer Abel (CAN) 294.30
10m platform synchro: 1. Anabelle Smith/Briony Cole (AUS) 306.30; 2. Meagan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 293.85; 3. Claire Febvay/Audrey Labeau (FRA) 279.72

FINA Newsletter