PR36 - USA gets fifth title in seven editions


The team of USA won its fifth crown at the end of the seventh edition of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World League 2010, winning the Super Final of the competition, held in La Jolla (San Diego, California, USA) from June 28-July 3. In the decisive game, the North Americans – winners of the World League in 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2009 – beat Australia by 12-11, after a thrilling penalty-shootout. At the end of the regular time, the two teams were tied at 7-7. The team of USA is also the current world champion and Olympic vice-champion. Australia never won the World League, but was on the podium on five occasions.

Penalties were also needed to determine the bronze medallist of the competition, with Greece beating Russia by 8-7 (5-5, at the end of the regular time). Both teams have also been successful throughout the history of the World League, with Russia winning in 2008 and Greece finishing first in 2005.

Finally, China defeated Hungary 8-7 for the fifth and sixth place, while Olympic champion Netherlands was stronger (8-6) than 2009 World silver medallist Canada and got the seventh spot of this Super Final.

FINAL RANKING of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World League 2010

1.United States

MEDALLISTS of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World League

2004: 1. USA, 2. HUN, 3. ITA
2005: 1. GRE, 2. RUS, 3. AUS
2006: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. RUS
2007: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2008: 1. RUS, 2. USA, 3. AUS
2009: 1. USA, 2. CAN, 3. AUS
2010: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE

FINA Newsletter