PR33 - Eight teams ready to compete in the Super Final


The national teams of Greece, Netherlands, Russia, Hungary, Canada, USA, Australia and China are ready to compete in the Super Final of the 2010 FINA Women’s Water Polo World League, taking place in San Diego (California, USA) from June 28 to July 3.

After the preliminary rounds, held from May 16 to June 20 in three continents, these squads will fight for the best possible position in this year’s World League, the seventh edition of this competition.

Among favourites, USA is certainly the team to beat in this Super Final, after winning the competition in 2009 and getting the World championship title also last July in Rome (ITA). Moreover, the Americans only missed one podium in the history of the competition (four victories and one silver), in 2005, and are the current Olympic silver medallists.

Canada, Netherlands, Australia and Russia are also string contenders to this fight. The Canadians were second in both the 2009 edition of the World League and at the FINA World Championships, while Australia got the bronze in the previous edition and was also third at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. The Dutch are the gold medallists from the Games, but had a more discreet year of 2009, missing the podium in both the World League and World Championships. Finally, Russia, was third in Rome and has three podiums in the history of the World League (first in 2008, second in 2005 and third in 2006).

Greece, China and Hungary are in the group of “outsiders”, with the Hellenic squad having a better record in recent years: winner of the competition in 2005.

MEDALLISTS of the FINA Women’s World League
2004: 1. USA, 2. HUN, 3. ITA
2005: 1. GRE, 2. RUS, 3. AUS
2006: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. RUS
2007: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2008: 1. RUS, 2. USA, 3. AUS
2009: 1. USA, 2. CAN, 3. AUS

FINA Newsletter