PR28 - World’s best divers meet in Changzhou (CHN)


The 17th edition of the FINA Diving World Cup kicks off June 2, 2010, with the world’s top-class divers to attend the five-day showdown in Changzhou, China.

About 150 divers (82 men and 66 women) from 33 countries will make the trip to China and seek to either establish or confirm their international status in one or more of the discipline’s four events: 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro. For the first time, a “Team Event” combining both male and female divers will be contested during the competition, on a test basis.

Chinese divers are expected to shine once again at home, having already demonstrated their might in the World Cup’s 2008 edition, in Beijing, China. Local favourites are reigning world and Olympic champions Qin Kai and Chong He in the men’s field while among women, Minxia Wu, Jingjing Guo, Ruolin Chen and Xin Wang will attempt to repeat their feat, having all medalled at the last World Cup.  

To attend the rendezvous as well is Sascha Klein (GER), the only non-Chinese diver to have reached the highest podium in the 2008 edition.  

The high-level competition promises to be fierce as other Olympic and World champions will attend the event: Alexandre Despatie (CAN), Matthew Mitcham (AUS), Dmitry Sautin (RUS), Yahel Castillo (MEX) and David Boudia (USA) in the men’s competition.
In the women’s field, Sharleen Stratton (AUS), Paola Espinosa (MEX) and Tania Cagnotto (ITA) will also compete.

FINA Newsletter