PR24 - Chinese more “discreet” in North America


Divers from USA and Italy managed to win gold medals in the fourth meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2010, held from May 6-9 in Fort Lauderdale (USA), leaving to the Chinese divers “only” four titles out of the eight on offer. In the men’s events, Thomas Finchum (USA) was the best in the 10m platform, while his compatriots Troy Dumais/Kristian Ipsen, and David Boudia/Nick McCrory got the gold in the 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro respectively. Among women, Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape finished first in the 3m springboard synchro.

The Chinese victories went to Shixin Li (men’s 3m springboard), Wang Han (women’s 3m springboard), Sinuo Ma (women’s 10m platform), and Shengping Wu/Jiaming Zhu (women’s 10m platform synchro). Colombia, Germany and Great Britain were the remaining countries with medals in Fort Lauderdale.

One week earlier, from April 30-May 2 in Montreal (CAN), it was time for Canadians and Australians to challenge China’s domination in the discipline. In the men’s field, local hero Alexandre Despatie got the gold in the 3m springboard (pairing with Reuben Ross, he also won the synchro event), while Olympic champion Matthew Mitcham (AUS) was the best in the 10m platform. Among women, Chinese divers won all four events at stake.

The final two meets of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2010 will take place in Bolzano (ITA, June 25-27) and Madrid (ESP, July 16-18).

Men’s 3m springboard: 1. Shixin Li (CHN) 527.80; 2. Troy Dumais (USA) 506.65; 3. Juan Uran (COL) 448.55
Men’s 10m platform: 1. Thomas Finchum (USA) 517.95; 2. Chen Aisen (CHN) 500.50; 3. Yue Lin (CHN) 490.00
Men’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Troy Dumais/Kristian Ipsen (USA) 424.50; 2. Shixin Li/Longji Yu (CHN) 408.96; 3. Pavlo Rozenberg/Sascha Klein (GER) 407.94
Men’s 10m platform synchro: 1. David Boudia/Nick McCrory (USA) 461.19; 2. Yue Lin/Yang Liguang (CHN) 460.83; 3. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 451.14

Women’s 3m springboard: 1. Wang Han (CHN) 359.60; 2. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 333.35; 3. Allison Breannan (USA) 329.35
Women’s 10m platform: 1. Sinuo Ma (CHN) 380.25; 2. Jiao Liu (CHN) 347.40; 3. Tonia Couch (GBR) 334.25
Women’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 313.50; 2. Wang Han/Qu Lin (CHN) 305.10; 3. Kelci Bryant/Abby Johnston (USA) 303.60
Women’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Shengping Wu/Jiaming Zhu (CHN) 350.88; 2. Haley Ishimatsu/Mary-Beth Dunnichay (USA) 311.64; 3. Sarah Barrow/Tonia Couch (GBR) 293.04

FINA Newsletter