PR12 - First of six Grand Prix stops begins tomorrow in Shenzhen, China


The first leg of the 15th edition of the FINA Diving Grand Prix will be held from February 13-15 at the Shenzhen Swimming & Diving Gymnasium in Shenzhen, Guangdong Province (CHN). This meeting will be followed by five more stops spanning four consecutive months.

Here’s the complete Grand Prix calendar:

1. February 13-15 – Shenzhen (CHN)
2. February 27-March 1 – Rostock (GER)
3. March 5-8 – Moscow (RUS)
4. April 30-May 3 – Montreal (CAN)
5. May 7-10 – Ft. Lauderdale (USA)
6. May 29-31 – Madrid (ESP)

Created in 1995, the Grand Prix has become an established meeting point for the best divers of the world. Many cities have organised a leg of this series over the years, either to help maintain existing diving traditions in their country, or use it to foster the sport’s development within their borders. In total, 17 nations and 40 cities have been involved with staging 15 editions.

The Grand Prix has launched or showcased many Olympic and World diving champions – including some of the most titled in FINA history. Beijing Olympic medallists Dmitry Sautin (RUS), Alexandre Despatie (CAN) and Luxin Zhou (CHN), as well as current Olympic champions Matthew Mitcham (AUS) and Chong He (CHN) are examples of former men’s Grand Prix winners. Among women, Beijing medallists Emilie Heymans (CAN), Yulia Pakhalina (RUS) and Paola Espinosa (MEX), as well as Olympic champions Minxia Wu, Ruolin Chen and Jingjing Guo of China were all stars of the Grand Prix.

The 2009 edition will be no exception to this successful tradition, which will also constitute an excellent indication of what can be expected at the 13th FINA World Championships this summer in Rome (ITA). This weekend’s meet doubles as the ‘Champions Diving Tour – Shenzhen (CHN)’.

FINA Newsletter