PR22 - World’s best ready to square-off this weekend in Doha (QAT)


Diving’s top stars will go head-to-head this weekend in Doha (QAT) where the first leg of the four-part 3rd FINA Diving World Series will take place on March 21-22. About sixty of the world’s best-ranked divers from ten countries will compete in this opening leg, which sees the World Series reach the Middle East for the first time and Doha make its debut on the world diving stage. The state-of-the-art Hamad Aquatic Centre is the venue. Fans can follow the competition via live streaming on

This will undoubtedly be the most elite competition since the Beijing Olympics, with the presence of Olympic and World Championship stars like Matthew Mitcham (AUS), Kai Qin (CHN), Dmitry Sautin (RUS), as well as the synchro partnerships of Yue Lin/Liang Huo (CHN) and Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER). The women’s field includes Yulia Pakhalina (RUS), Tania Cagnotto (ITA) and Ruolin Chen (CHN), as well as the synchro pairings of Ditte Kotzian/Heike Fischer (GER) and Briony Cole/Melissa Wu (AUS). Rising stars like the young Thomas Daley (GBR) and Paola Espinosa (MEX) have also entered.

Here is the complete 2009 World Series schedule:

March 21-22, 2009 – Doha (QAT)
March 27-28, 2009 – Changzhou (CHN)
April 18-19, 2009 – Sheffield (GBR)
April 24-25, 2009 – Mexico City (MEX)

Commencing in 2007, the FINA Diving World Series is a new, high-profile annual competition that unites the brightest stars of diving in competition more often. Based on their rankings, World Series competitors are directly invited by FINA. Lucrative prize money totaling US$96,000 is reserved for the winners from each meet, while the overall World Series winners are rewarded with a portion of US$192,000 – for a total of US$576,000.

This prestigious, exclusive event promotes awareness about which countries are renowned for the sport, while fostering the discipline’s growth in the host nations and other parts of the world. Overall, the Series also aims to increase international exposure to the sport of diving, which has been an Olympic sport for men since 1904 and women since 1912.

FINA Newsletter