PR25 - Twelve countries from three continents square-off this weekend


The second edition of the FINA World Men’s Water Polo Development Trophy 2009 will be held from April 5-11 in Kuwait City (KUW). National teams from the following twelve countries will compete in two groups:

Algeria (ALG)               
Tunisia (TUN)              
Guatemala (GUA)           
Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)       
Kuwait (KUW)         
Indonesia (INA)           
Kenya (KEN)
Morocco (MAR)
Jamaica (JAM)
Uruguay (URU)
Philippines (PHI)
Singapore (SIN)

Six games will be played per day at 09:00, 10:30, 12:00, 16:00, 17:30 and 19:00 (local time), except April 10 (rest day).

Held every two years, the Development Trophy is a tournament to engage water polo countries that are showing promise within their region but have not yet reached the World or Olympic competitive level. Created to foster the growth of water polo in all regions, the event provides an opportunity for federations to develop through a competitive experience that presents an encouraging and level playing field.

In 2007, the Trophy winners were Colombia, while Puerto Rico and Iran took silver and bronze respectively. The medallists prevailed over the following national teams (listed in the order of the final ranking of the 2007 edition): 4. Kuwait, 5. Saudi Arabia, 6. Uruguay, 7. Korea, 8. Chile, 9. Algeria, 10. Tunisia, 11. Morocco, and 12. Kenya. The inaugural edition also took place in Kuwait City (KUW).

FINA Newsletter