FINA Bureau 2013 - 2017

The Bureau consists of 22 members elected by the General Congress, without vote, including the President, five Vice Presidents (one per continent), the Honorary Secretary, the Honorary Treasurer and 16 additional members. All are from different countries or “Sport Countries”. 16 members are chosen on the basis of geographical representation (3 from Africa, 4 from America, 4 from Asia, 4 from Europe and 1 from Oceania) and the remaining 7 from the world at large. Also member of the Bureau but without vote are the Honorary Life President, the Immediate Past President, the Immediate Past Honorary Secretary and the Immediate Past Honorary Treasurer for a term of 4 years.

The Bureau is responsible for discussing and making decisions on all matters assigned by them by the General and Technical Congresses. Moreover and among other things, Bureau members interpret and enforce the Rule of FINA, they submit proposals to the Congress, they attribute FINA awards, they determine the dates and locations of World Championships and other FINA events, they organise and control all competitions for FINA’s five aquatic disciplines at the Olympic Games, Youth Olympic Games, World Championships and other FINA competitions, they instruct FINA Committees and manage their activities, etc.

At its first meeting, the Bureau forms an Executive Committee consisting of five Bureau Members - FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione, FINA Honorary Secretary Paolo Barelli, FINA Honorary Treasurer Pipat Paniangvait and Vice-Presidents Sam Ramsamy and Dennis Miller.  

The Executive’s role is to decide upon matters relating to the FINA Rules and Regulations or referred to it by the Bureau. It is also responsible for the supervision of the FINA permanent office located in Lausanne, Switzerland.

1 Dr. Julio C. MAGLIONE President
2 Husain AL MUSALLAM First Vice President
3 Paolo BARELLI Honorary Secretary
4 Pipat PANIANGVAIT Honorary Treasurer
5 Sam RAMSAMY Vice President
6 Dale NEUBURGER Vice President
7 Tamas GYARFAS Vice President
8 Dennis MILLER Vice President
9 Fernando CARPENA Member
10 Errol CLARKE Member
11 Dimitris DIATHESOPOULOS Member
12 Dr Mohamed DIOP Member
13 Matthew DUNN Member
14 Ben EKUMBO Member
15 Andrey KRYUKOV Member
16 Eugenio MARTINEZ Member
17 Dr. Margo MOUNTJOY Member
18 Donald RUKARE Member
19 Coaracy NUNES FILHO Member
20 Vladimir SALNIKOV Member
21 Kazuo SANO Member
22 Erik van HEIJNINGEN Member
23 Qiuping ZHANG Member
24 Jihong ZHOU Member
25 Mustapha LARFAOUI Honorary Life President
26 Gennady ALESHIN Honorary Member
27 Rafael BLANCO Honorary Member
28 Bartolo CONSOLO Honorary Member
29 Eldon C. GODFREY, C.A. Honorary Member
30 Nory KRUCHTEN Honorary Member
31 Francis LUYCE Honorary Member
32 Guillermo MARTINEZ Honorary Member
33 Chief Olatokunbo THOMAS Honorary Member
34 Gunnar WERNER Honorary Member
35 Cornel MARCULESCU Executive Director